Everything from A to Z

THINGS TO KNOW

Your wedding rings are the seal of your marriage vows. Many small details make a big whole - see for yourself!

Fitting

There are many different ring shapes. The best way to decide which one is right for you is to try them on systematically. When fitting the wedding rings, make sure that your hands are neither too warm nor too cold, because this can change the circumference of your fingers.

Bicolor

You can not decide between all the precious metals and alloys? Then multicoloured wedding rings are a great idea! Whether harmonious color gradient or strict separation of the alloys - in any case, there are fantastic colour games and countless combination possibilities.
J-1016-1
F-1355-1
F-1358-1

Carbon

Absolutely in vogue are wedding rings made of carbon - a high-tech material characterized by particular stability and lightness as well as a matt shimmering, deep black colour and structured surface. The material is very resistant to environmental influences and temperature fluctuations and shows hardly any signs of wear.

Diamonds

A diamond is the hardest substance found in nature. As a symbol of eternity, it is therefore the perfect companion for the wedding and the whole life. Diamonds occur in nature not only in colourless version, but also in other shades. The more intense the colour, the higher the value. The most famous cuts are brilliant, princess, drop and baguette cut.

Premium metal

A metal is considered precious when it does not rust and is therefore very durable. Perfect for wedding rings that the bride and groom should enjoy for a lifetime. The classic among the precious metals is gold in different varieties such as white, yellow, red and rose gold. Platinum is also one of the precious metals. In contrast to silver, which can oxidize and tarnish quickly.

Fineness

The proportion of the highest-quality precious metal in an alloy is called the fineness. This value is expressed in thousandths: for example, „yellow gold 750/000“ or „yellow gold 750“ for short stands for a fine gold content of 75 percent. In wedding ring manufacturing, 585 and 750 have the greatest significance. Platinum wedding rings usually have a fineness of 600 or 950.

Yellow gold

As one of the most valuable jewelry metals, yellow gold has excited people for thousands of years. Since pure gold is extremely soft, it is usually processed with other metals such as copper or silver in jewelry manufacturing. This creates alloys that have a higher degree of hardness and great strength. Depending on which precious metals are added, different shades are obtained, such as white or red gold.

Hardness grade

Wedding rings are subjected to a great deal of wear and tear through daily wear. Therefore, the hardness grade of the material, also called Vickers hardness (HV), is extremely important. The ideal Vickers hardness for your rings is over 180 HV, tough and elastic (not brittle) and resistant to environmental influences.
F40174U
F-1364-1
F30354U
J-1165-1

Inner side

On the inner side of your wedding rings you have space for small messages and individual details - such as a beautiful engraving or a small diamond. Often you will also find a small stamp here, the so-called hallmark, which documents the actual gold or platinum content.
F-1323-1
F-1325-1

Juweler

Wedding rings are worn for a lifetime and every day. For this important matter, it is better to trust the expertise of a specialist store instead of chasing bargains online. Another advantage is that the consulting service usually does not end with the ring purchase. Even after that, services such as cleaning, polishing or matting are sometimes available free of charge.

Carat

The weight measure used for cut diamonds or gold is called a carat and is usually abbreviated to „ct“. One carat is exactly equal to 0.2 grams. The carat is originally derived from the Latin name of the carob tree (Ceratonia siliqua), whose seeds almost always have a weight of 0.2 grams.

Alloy

Alloying is the fusion of different (precious) metals to form a new material. Pure gold or fine gold is almost exclusively processed in alloyed form in jewelry manufacturing. This is how hardness and strength as well as different colour nuances are achieved.

Eternity ring

The first wedding anniversary, the birth of a child or moving into a house together - there are many moments in life that you would like to remember. All these experiences can be immortalized through the symbolism of an eternity ring - each in the form of a sparkling diamond. It is particularly romantic to start with just one diamond at the wedding and gradually add more stones to the ring.

Sustainability

If you live a sustainable lifestyle, you naturally don‘t want to be careless when it comes to your wedding. When buying wedding rings, for example, look for the use of certified diamonds, for the extraction of which no human rights and environmental protection guidelines have been violated. Other sustainable aspects include environmentally friendly processing and the use of recycled precious metals.
SC-1194-1
SC-1196-1

Finish

The choice of the finish gives each pair of rings its own unique touch. Of course, various combinations are possible. The intensity of care can vary greatly: Polished wedding rings conceal scratches very well and lose their shine only slowly, while the durability of a matte finish must be regularly touched up.

Platinum

Thanks to its many positive characteristics, platinum is considered a „carefree cosmetic“. It is extremely resistant, keeps its shape and is hardly affected by abrasion. Added to this is its almost perfect purity: Platinum 950 contains 95% pure platinum, which makes it particularly skinfriendly and hypoallergenic.
F-1292-1
F50018-030-18Z

Quality

No other piece of jewelry is as symbolic as the wedding ring. No other piece of jewelry is worn as long and as often. It is therefore all the more important that you pay attention to good quality when buying your rings. Therefore, it is best to choose high-quality precious metals such as gold 585 or 750 or platinum 600 or 950.

Rose gold

A modern alternative for brides and grooms who love warm hues are rose gold wedding rings. These are created by mixing fine gold and copper with decolorizing metals such as palladium or silver. Depending on the copper content, the alloy appears pinkish or reddish, which flatters many skin tones and looks subtle and sophisticated on the hand.

Cut

The cut of a diamond determines its brilliance. Be it the classic set brilliant, princess, baguette or any other diamond cut. The higher the quality of the cut, the more radiant and luminous it sparkles. Stones with a perfect cut beautifully bring out the special fire of a diamond.

Triset

The trend of putting together individual trisets is becoming increasingly popular. This is a set of three rings: the two wedding rings as well as a further pre-ring for the bride. Whereas the former are classically kept and rather simple, the preliminary ring usually shines in the form of a sparkling eternity or solitaire ring.

Unique pieces

In order to get a first impression of the designs and options available when choosing a ring, we recommend taking a look at the wedding ring configurator: Here you can compile and visualize your personal wishes and ideas in advance. This will give you an impression of what your unique love ring can look like.

Engagement ring

When proposing marriage, a sparkling engagement ring is indispensable these days. The most popular is still the classic solitaire ring with a six-piece prong setting, or alternatively with a 4-piece prong, bezel or tension setting. This makes saying „Yes, I do“ a mere formality.
F-1379-1
F-1351-1
F-1382-1

White gold

When gold is mixed with silver, palladium or other metals, for example, it takes on a whitish colour. An additional rhodium coating ensures that the white gold does not turn gray and retains its bright white shine. The different shades of white gold harmonize particularly well with diamonds and make them sparkle.
F-1345-1
F-1339-1
F-1343-1

X-clusiv

Buying jewelry is a matter of trust and this is especially true when it comes to choosing the perfect rings. So leave nothing to chance on the most important day of your life and benefit from the exclusive and long-standing experience and consulting services of your local TRAURINGjuwelier.

Yes

Congratulations on your dream rings. With the right engraving they now get a personal touch. The possibilities are many: from very classic with your first names and the wedding date to individual with your favorite quote to unique with fingerprint, just about anything is possible here.
F-1276-1
F-1285-1
F52183-040Z-20

Schedule

A few days before the wedding to quickly get the wedding rings? Not a good idea. In order to have enough time for the selection, individual adjustments and engravings, you should order your rings at least three to four months before your wedding date. If you are getting married spontaneously, ask the jeweler if you can have the rings engraved after the wedding.

RINGsum von A bis Z

Wissenswertes

Ihre Trauringe sind das Siegel Ihres Eheversprechens. Dabei ergeben viele kleine Details ein großes Ganzes – sehen Sie selbst!

Anprobe

Es gibt viele verschiedene Ringformen. Welche die passende für euch ist, entscheidet ihr am besten durch systematisches Anprobieren. Achtet bei der Anpassung der Trauringe darauf, dass eure Hände weder zu warm noch zu kalt sind, denn dadurch kann sich der Umfang eurer Finger ändern.

Bicolor

Ihr könnt euch zwischen all den Edelmetallen und Legierungen nicht entscheiden? Dann sind mehrfarbige Trauringe eine tolle Idee! Ob harmonischer Farbverlauf oder strikte Trennung der Legierungen – es ergeben sich in jedem Fall fantastische Farbspiele und unzählige Kombinationsmöglichkeiten.
J-1016-1
F-1355-1
F-1358-1

Carbon

Absolut im Trend liegen Trauringe aus Carbon – ein Hightech-Werkstoff, der sich durch besondere Stabilität und Leichtigkeit sowie eine matt schimmernde, tiefschwarze Farbe und strukturierte Oberfläche auszeichnet. Das Material ist sehr beständig gegenüber Umwelteinflüssen sowie Temperaturschwankungen und zeigt beim Tragen kaum Abnutzungserscheinungen.

Diamanten

Ein Diamant ist der härteste Stoff, der in der Natur vorkommt. Als Symbol für die Ewigkeit ist er somit der perfekte Begleiter für die Hochzeit und das ganze Leben. Diamanten kommen in der Natur nicht nur in farbloser Ausführung, sondern ebenso in anderen Schattierungen vor. Je intensiver ausgeprägt der Farbton ist, desto höher der Wert. Die bekanntesten Schliffe sind Brillant-, Princess-, Tropfen- und Baguetteschliff.

Edelmetall

Ein Metall gilt dann als edel, wenn es nicht rostet und somit sehr lange haltbar ist. Perfekt also für Trauringe, an denen sich das Brautpaar ein Leben lang erfreuen soll. Der Klassiker unter den Edelmetallen ist Gold in verschiedenen Varianten wie Weiß-, Gelb-, Rot- und Roségold. Auch Platin zählt zu den Edelmetallen. Ganz im Gegensatz zu Silber, das schnell oxidieren und anlaufen kann.

Feingehalt

Der Anteil des hochwertigsten Edelmetalls in einer Legierung wird als Feingehalt bezeichnet. Dieser Wert wird in Tausendstel angegeben: So steht zum Beispiel „Gelbgold 750/000” oder kurz „Gelbgold 750” für einen Feingoldanteil von 75 Prozent. In der Trauringherstellung haben 585 und 750 die größte Bedeutung. Eheringe aus Platin haben in der Regel einen Feingehalt von 600 oder 950.

Gelbgold

Als eines der wertvollsten Schmuckmetalle begeistert Gelbgold die Menschen bereits seit Jahrtausenden. Da reines Gold extrem weich ist, wird es in der Schmuckherstellung meist mit anderen Metallen wie Kupfer oder Silber verarbeitet. So entstehen Legierungen, die einen höheren Härtegrad und eine große Festigkeit aufweisen. Je nachdem, welche Edelmetalle zugegeben werden, erhält man unterschiedliche Nuancen wie z. B. Weiß- oder Rotgold.

Härtegrad

Eheringe sind durch tägliches Tragen einer starken Beanspruchung ausgesetzt. Daher ist der Härtegrad des Materials, auch Vickershärte (HV) genannt, äußerst wichtig. Die ideale Vickershärte für eure Ringe liegt bei über 180 HV, ist zäh und elastisch (nicht spröde) sowie resistent gegenüber Umwelteinflüssen.
F30354U
F-1364-1
F40174U
J-1165-1

Innenseite

Auf der Innenschiene eurer Trauringe habt ihr Platz für kleine Botschaften und individuelle Details – wie zum Beispiel eine schöne Gravur oder einen kleinen Brillanten. Oft findet sich hier auch ein kleiner Stempel, die sogenannte Punzierung, die den tatsächlichen Gold oder Platingehalt dokumentiert.
F-1323-1
F-1325-1

Juwelier

Trauringe trägt man ein Leben lang und das jeden Tag. Vertraut in dieser wichtigen Angelegenheit lieber der Expertise eines Fachgeschäfts, anstatt online Schnäppchen nachzujagen. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist, dass die Beratungsleistung meist nicht mit dem Ringkauf endet. Auch danach sind teilweise kostenfrei Serviceleistungen wie Reinigung, Polieren oder Mattieren möglich.

Karat

Das für geschliffene Diamanten oder Gold verwendete Gewichtsmaß wird als Karat bezeichnet und meist mit „ct” abgekürzt. Ein Karat entspricht exakt 0,2 Gramm. Das Karat leitet sich ursprünglich aus der lateinischen Bezeichnung des Johannisbrotbaums (Ceratonia siliqua) ab, dessen Samen fast immer ein Gewicht von 0,2 Gramm haben.

Legierung

Unter Legierung versteht man die Verschmelzung verschiedener (Edel-) Metalle zu einem neuen Werkstoff. Reines Gold bzw. Feingold wird bei der Schmuckherstellung fast ausschließlich in legierter Form verarbeitet. So erzielt man Härte und Festigkeit sowie unterschiedliche Farbnuancen.

Memoirering

Der erste Hochzeitstag, die Geburt eines Kindes oder der Einzug ins gemeinsame Haus – es gibt viele Momente im Leben, an die man sich gerne erinnern möchte. In einem Memoirering lassen sich all diese Erlebnisse verewigen – jeweils in Form eines funkelnden Brillanten. Besonders romantisch ist es, zur Hochzeit mit nur einem Diamanten zu starten und den Ring schrittweise mit weiteren Steinen zu ergänzen.

Nachhaltigkeit

Wer einen nachhaltigen Lebensstil pflegt, der möchte selbstverständlich auch bei der Hochzeit nicht nachlässig sein. Achtet beim Trauringkauf zum Beispiel auf die Verwendung zertifizierter Diamanten, für deren Gewinnung keine Menschenrechte und Umweltschutz-Richtlinien verletzt wurden. Weitere nachhaltige Aspekte sind eine umweltschonende Verarbeitung sowie die Verwendung von recycelten Edelmetallen.
SC-1194-1
SC-1196-1

Oberfläche

Das Spiel der Oberfläche gibt jedem Ringpaar eine ganz eigene Note. Selbstverständlich sind verschiedene Kombinationen möglich. Die Pflegeintensität kann dabei stark variieren: Polierte Trauringe kaschieren Kratzer sehr gut und verlieren nur langsam an Glanz, während die Haltbarkeit einer matten Oberfläche regelmäßig nachgebessert werden muss.

Platin

Dank der vielen positiven Eigenschaften gilt Platin als „Sorglosmetall”. Es ist extrem widerstandsfähig, formbeständig und kaum von Abrieb betroffen. Hinzu kommt die nahezu vollkommene Reinheit: Platin 950 enthält zu 95 % reines Platin, wodurch es sich als besonders hautverträglich und antiallergisch erweist.
F-1292-1
F50018-030-18Z

Qualität

Kein anderes Schmuckstück ist so symbolträchtig wie der Ehering. Kein anderes trägt man so lange und so häufig. Umso wichtiger ist es, dass ihr beim Kauf eurer Ringe auf eine gute Qualität achtet. Wählt daher am besten hochwertige Edelmetalle wie zum Beispiel Gold 585 bzw. 750 oder Platin 600 bzw. 950.

Roségold

Eine moderne Alternative für Brautpaare, die warme Farbnuancen lieben, sind Eheringe aus Roségold. Diese entstehen durch die Mischung aus Feingold und Kupfer mit entfärbenden Metallen wie Palladium oder Silber. Je nach Kupferanteil erscheint die Legierung roséfarben oder rötlich, was vielen Hauttypen schmeichelt und an der Hand dezent und edel wirkt.

Schliff

Der Schliff eines Diamanten entscheidet über seine Brillanz. Sei es der klassisch gefasste Brillant, Princess-, Baguette- oder ein anderer Diamantschliff. Je höher die Qualität des Schliffs ist, desto strahlender und leuchtender funkelt er. Steine mit einem perfekten Schliff bringen das besondere Feuer eines Diamanten wunderschön zur Geltung.

Triset

Immer größerer Beliebtheit erfreut sich der Trend, individuelle Trisets zusammenzustellen. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Set aus drei Ringen: den beiden Trauringen sowie einem weiteren Vorsteckring für die Braut. Während erstere klassischerweise eher schlicht gehalten werden, erstrahlt der Vorsteckring meist in Form eines funkelnden Memoire- oder Solitärrings.

Unikate

Um sich bereits ein erstes Bild darüber zu machen, welche Designs und Möglichkeiten es bei der Ringwahl gibt, empfiehlt sich ein Blick in den Trauringkonfigurator: Hier könnt ihr eure persönlichen Wünsche und Vorstellungen schon vorab zusammenstellen und visualisieren. So bekommt ihr einen Eindruck davon, wie eure Unikate der Liebe aussehen können.

Verlobungsring

Beim Heiratsantrag ist ein funkelnder Verlobungsring heutzutage nicht mehr wegzudenken. Am beliebtesten ist immer noch der klassische Solitärring mit sechsteiliger Krappenfassung, alternativ mit 4er-Krappe, Zargen oder Spannfassung. So wird das „Ja, ich will” reine Formsache.
F-1379-1
F-1382-1
F-1351-1

Weißgold

Wird Gold beispielsweise mit Silber, Palladium oder anderen Metallen gemischt, erhält es eine weißliche Färbung. Eine zusätzliche Rhodium-Beschichtung sorgt dafür, dass das Weißgold nicht nachgraut und seinen hellweißen Glanz behält. Die verschiedenen Nuancen von Weißgold harmonieren besonders schön mit Brillanten und bringen diese zum Funkeln.
F-1339-1
F-1343-1
F-1345-1

X-klusiv

Schmuckkauf ist Vertrauenssache und das gilt insbesondere dann, wenn es um die Auswahl der perfekten Ringe geht. Überlasst am wichtigsten Tag eures Lebens also nichts dem Zufall und profitiert von der exklusiven und langjährigen Erfahrung und Beratungsleistung eures TRAURINGjuweliers vor Ort.

Yes

Glückwunsch zu euren Traumringen. Mit der richtigen Gravur erhalten sie nun noch eine persönliche Note. Die Möglichkeiten sind vielfältig: Von ganz klassisch mit euren Vornamen und dem Hochzeitsdatum über individuell mit eurem Lieblingszitat bis hin zu einmalig mit Fingerabdruck ist hier so gut wie alles möglich.
F52183-040Z-20
F-1285-1
F-1276-1

Zeitplan

Ein paar Tage vor der Hochzeit noch schnell die Trauringe besorgen? Keine gute Idee. Damit genügend Zeit für die Auswahl, individuelle Anpassungen sowie die Gravuren bleiben, solltet ihr eure Ringe mind. drei bis vier Monate vor eurem Hochzeitstermin bestellen. Wenn ihr spontan heiratet, fragt beim Juwelier nach, ob ihr die Ringe erst nach der Hochzeit gravieren lassen könnt.